top of page
Search
  • Helen

PALS changed my life

By Ottilie Bankes


I have been a member of PALS since 2015 and I have loved it ever since my first session!


Before PALS, I found that most youth groups or after school activities on offer were not accessible for me and that left me feeling isolated! PALS changed that! I was able to finally attend an after school club with my friends!

Over the years I have enjoyed taking part in a huge variety of activities and trips. My favourites include sleepovers at Ufton Court, bowling, PGL trips, sailing, and cooking. It would take me a long time to write about every session.


I really appreciated all the hard work PALS team put into every session and wanted to give something back to PALS. I helped to organise a fundraising clay pigeon shoot and It raised a lot of money! I am really proud that I helped and that PALS can keep offering brilliant activities.


My 2020 would have been very different without PALS. When the country locked down PALS moved to virtual sessions and it was a lifeline!


The sessions meant I could keep a connection with my friends! This helped me and my family cope with the boredom of being stuck at home! Our sessions moved to zoom and we had activity packs delivered to our doors. What a service!


The volunteers always made sure we had something fun to do. They took our suggestions on board and I was so excited when they agreed to have a Zoom disco! We dressed up, put on the disco lights and danced the session away!

When the restrictions were lifted we were allowed to meet in person once again! Even with Covid-safe limited numbers and extra safety precautions, it was the same fun, friendly and exciting PALS.


We enjoyed lots of outdoor activities going to Thatcham Lakes, Greenham Common and a farm.


Having that chance to get outdoors and see my friends really helped stop the

boredom and lift me out of my lockdown slump.


I was disappointed when another lockdown meant more home learning but once again PALS was there keeping me smiling!


Virtual sessions have again been a highlight. I have enjoyed an awards ceremony, a reptile show, a pantomime, a magic show, baking and most recently a session with Guinea pigs and pancakes – what a treat!


Helen and all of the volunteers have been amazing and have risen to the challenges that Covid19 have thrown at them. I think they all deserve a medal and I’m sure all the other PALS families will feel the same!


THANK YOU PALS :)

245 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page